Top
Interested in starting your BRAG worthy online store?

I Hope No One Finds This Out | Yearly Review 2019

 

alison prince 2019

 

Be kind, rewind. Do you remember that blue and yellow sticker that was on each VHS tape you rented from Blockbuster?  Did you rewind every single time? Umm…. I bring this up about rewinding because I think doing a yearly review is something we all need to do so we can see how far we’ve come, even if it doesn’t seem like you've accomplished much. If you’re like me, then you probably can probably be a little hard on yourself if you don’t hit those big goals. This yearly review exercise will help you step back and realize all the things that you did accomplish.

To do this, I usually put three things down on a piece of paper that I'm proud I did and three things that I hope no one finds out. I then try and figure out the lessons that I was supposed to learn from them – this part is key to your yearly review.

The process can be so hard for me to do. 

It's easy to point out other people's mistakes, but pointing out your own and then telling the world… That's a hard pill to swallow, but I do it every year because it leaves me more focused on the upcoming year.

So, I’m going to give you my 5-part framework for your yearly review…

  1. Write down where you were a year ago
  2. Write down 3 things that don’t want anyone to know about
  3. Write down 3 things you are super proud you accomplished
  4. Write down the lessons learned from these 6 things above
  5. Write down a “word of the year” that you’ll live by

As I said, this can be tough, so I’ll walk through mine to give you some ideas and inspiration. Sound good?

 

So, where was I a year ago?

I chuckle thinking about that. One year ago I was sitting in my warm office as I watched from the window as my husband ran down the street trying to wrangle our trash cans from the Utah winds. I can still remember it, he was in his snow boots, jacket, and shorts – yes shorts. A little bit different than the 87-degree weather every day here in Puerto Rico. 

Alright, let's knock out the bad in this yearly review. What were the bad things that happened?

Yearly Review Bad Thing #1

We moved 3,139 miles away to a new land. Now, yes we made this decision ourselves but that didn’t mean it was easy. At 2 weeks post-move, we broke down and cried. At 6 weeks post-move, we broke down and cried. It’s not that we don’t love Puerto Rico, it’s just that change is hard!

Lesson Learned

Home is where your family is. You’ll face challenges whether you are moving down the street, to the next state over, or to a new country. What really matters is that you realize what makes a home is who you are with.

 

Yearly Review Bad Thing #2

I was hoarding. Not hoarding physical things, I was trying to hoard information. I was out there trying to learn a bajillion different things so it would move the needle on my business, but I realized that it was having the opposite impact. 

Lesson Learned

Identify what I need then invest in experts that know that thing like the back of their hand. I don’t need to know everything and if I try to know everything, my business won’t grow. I had to really step back this year and leverage experts to help get myself and my students more results.

 

Yearly Review Bad Thing #3

I worry too much about my body image. This really became known to me after I decided to make a note of each time I had a thought about it. Whoa! There were a lot of notes. But it wasn’t so much about the body image thoughts – I was concerned because of what I could get accomplished if all that headspace was used for helping my students and not worrying about how my tighs look in the bathing suit. 

Lesson Learned

Directing my thoughts from something like body image to something more productive, I could change a heck of a lot more lives.

 

Ok, ok, enough bad stuff, let’s chat about the GOOD in this yearly review!

 

Yearly Review Good Thing #1

We moved 3,139 miles away to a new land. Yea, this was both a bad and a good thing. The reason it was good is that we got to purge our house before the move. It was crazy just how much stuff can accumulate when you live somewhere for a few years. 

Lesson Learned

The less stuff you have in your living environment, the less stuff you have to take care of. That’s just more space in your house and in your mind. Don’t underestimate how much a clean, clutter-free environment can impact your headspace. 

 

Yearly Review Good Thing #2

I threw my first event! This was such a HUGE accomplishment for me. To put this in perspective, I was sitting in my car crying, thinking of all the ways I could cancel the event just 3 days from when it was set to start.

Lesson Learned

The more freaked out you are, the bigger your success is going to be. There will be things that are seemingly working against you, but you’ve got to keep moving ahead because growth comes from pressure. 

 

Yearly Review Good Thing #3

If you want to know my third good thing and how you can choose your “Word Of The Year”, then you’ll want to scroll back up to the top and click on that play button!

 

Oh, and be sure to tell a friend about the podcast – that can be your Christmas present to me 🙂 

xo

Alison

Making my kids cry.  Why? Because I Can

 

Additional Resources…

 

Listener Love…

  • Life changing!
    by Future CEO MR from United States

    I bought your course last summer right in the middle of taking graduate courses to increase my salary lane as a teacher. No need to say that the increase in salary has not made any mayor changes. I always had the desire of doing an e-commerce business but did not know how to start. I still have not taken the time that I am supposed to dedicate to the course, however these podcasts had filled me with the courage I need to start doing it. Thank you Alison for your words of wisdom every Tuesday.

  • Thank You Alison!
    by Savjack28 from United States

    The best. If you’re serious about wanting to make real money online, you must listen to this podcast.

  • Awesome Podcast!!!
    by Clarisse Gomez from United States

    Alison, host of the Because I Can Life podcast, highlights all aspects of business, entrepreneurship and more in this can’t miss podcast! The host and expert guests offer insightful advice and information that is helpful to anyone that listens!

  • Inspiring & Amazing
    by DoohikeyDesigns from United States

    Alison is the real deal! She’s real as she inspires you to reach your best life. She gives you glimpses into how she has made multi dollar million businesses. Alison was called to serve others to help others reach the dreams we have always wanted to achieve. She inspires to help us Rise Up to what God wants us to become! It just keeps getting better and better! Wow! Today’s episode in February is amazing! Literally I sell wholesale and know what it takes. But now I’m wanting to really create more retail sales and I have since being in your program!

  • Thank you!
    by gigisomar from United States

    Allison, I really have so enjoyed your podcasts. Thank you for putting out all of this wonderful information.

  • Inspirational
    by Missladyamy from United States

    Alison.. love having your podcast available to help me keep going. I can listen to it while I do my makeup in the morning and get ready. You inspire my day and give me hope. Thank you. I am already in e commerce but want to take a different route in this area and excited for the new ideas you provide. - Renee @beprosperity

  • Wow
    by M.Murawska from United States

    I have been Alison’s student for almost 2 years. I am still learning!!! This pot cast was a piece of information that I was missing! Let’s make $$$$ with influencers! Thank You Alison❤️

  • Gold
    by Brandeerose from United States

    I’ve been a Alison fan for over a year! She gives so much great content and she over delivers ‘all the time’! I’ve been following her system and am a happy customer. Her 100k system is THE bomb! I’ve tried so many other courses and she’s the real dill. Lol. Thank you so much Alison for all you do. You’re truly a blessing. Instagram handle @threadsofarmor ❤️

  • Episode 15
    by -akoboe from United States

    Loved this episode and how broken down and step by step the details were. Question for you: How do you decide on a business name and shop for an e-commerce store if you don’t have a niche? Or do you only recommend opening a store for those who do? In the beginning, you sold a lot of random things that didn’t relate to each other, so did you use third party selling websites to sell or did you start your own store and how do you do that without a specific product or niche?

  • Excellent
    by B-Rex1 from United States

    Alison continues to offer great teaching moments with love and enthusiasm!!

  • Yes, BECAUSE WE CAN!
    by twimoonlight from United States

    I love your passion and love for this business. I love that you have worked so hard to give us such an awesome mentor, business Opportunity guidance, tools, and a Facebook group that we all can draw from and count on. Thank You!!!

  • Amazing!
    by Lissy Eubank from United States

    Alison (and her course) is amazing!!! Listen, learn and apply! You won’t regret it!!

  • The best!
    by Polarbe88 from United States

    Alison knows her stuff!! I love listening to her!!

  • Love this Podcast!
    by newmama4 from United States

    I loved learning from Alison & Dave and can’t wait to check out the show notes! Sara & I started Stylingsamy.com thanks to Alison’s Because I Can Clan, we are still in the beginning, but I sense big things to come and wouldn’t be where we are right now without you Alison!! XOXO!

  • Episode 10 - LOVED IT!!!
    by drewtheclue from United States

    I have liked and learned a bunch from all of Alison’s episodes as well as from her YouTube channel and her courses. I really really enjoyed Episode 10 though - so many great quotables & gold nuggets were shared...I saved it and will take notes when I listen again!!!

  • Alison knows E-Commerce
    by Lwisdom69 from United States

    Seriously I wasn’t into podcast, Meh- But once I heard this “Because I can Life” with Alison J Prince, she’s Amazing in every way!!! She shows you what she is doing & walks you through her process. She is so transparent in every way. She shows us how to kick Fear in the teeth! She’s my go to momma bear!! I love this podcast- Your Truly, Lillian Wisdom

  • Alison knows her stuff! This works!
    by c_beckstrand from United States

    I have followed Alison’s journey for the past few years and never met anyone who is so willing to share what she knows to help others. There are so many golden nuggets from these podcasts that you can take and apply to your own business. She is the real deal!! Following her strategy, I now have a business of my own that is THRIVING because of the plan that she has laid out. She is changing lives!! Listen to this podcast- you won’t regret it!

  • Alison Is The Real Deal
    by awishandakiss from United States

    Have you ever watched fresh water pour out of a spring? That is what Alison is like. She shares and teaches so much good, over flowing with the very best! Love this podcast! Thank you Alison for wanting and giving the steps to success, for those that you teach. -Melinda L.

  • Truly An Inspiration!
    by Alohalovelife from United States

    Alison, I am LOVING your podcast!!! You are crushing it! You are such an inspiration! Thank you for stepping out there to share your story! You have helped me transform my mindset and my life! xoxo Michon

  • Awesome!
    by SACP12 from United States

    Love listening to Alison. She is inspiring and gets it. It’s making me move forward and giving confidence in doing so. Kick fear in the teeth.

  • Thank you!
    by Gkeith88 from United States

    Loving it all. Thank you for coming out from behind the scenes and sharing your real life. We all benefit from your knowledge and the joy you bring.

  • Alison knows what she is talking about
    by J0di8 from United States

    Alison gives such awesome advice on starting and growing a business even kids can do it! That's awesome!

  • Right to my soul.
    by LiviaLight from United States

    Alison is genuine, sincere, and has a passion and a fire that gets right to my heart. She has a great desire to help others and shares important content. Her energy and light can help you see possibilities for yourself that you never imagined. We are all humans on this journey of growth. Invite Alison to be part of your journey and you won’t regret it.

  • Don’t miss out!
    by P. Cram from United States

    This Is your chance to learn from one of the masters of e-commerce. Alison’s style of savvy business advice in an easy to understand and implement format will take your business to the next level! If you’ve ever thought about starting your own online business the first step is Alison’s program. Trust me, this is the road map to success you’ve been looking for!

  • Alison Prince is great!
    by Shanda2005 from United States

    Alison Prince gives great advice about how to run an online business. This is a great podcast. A must listen for entrepreneurs!

  • An entrepreneur who GETS IT!!!
    by AshleyJohnston from United States

    This girl just gets it. She understands doubt, she has lived hard days, she knows what it’s like to start from zero.....and then climb out of that crap. I think what I appreciate the most, is that she genuinely enjoys helping others find success. Truly a gift.

  • Motivating and Inspiring
    by Lisa fruit pop princess from United States

    Alison is great at motivating and inspiring! She has so much great info that she shares! You definitely need to listen to this if you've ever thought of becoming an entrepreneur!

  • Pushing forward with Alison
    by Gyetvaimom from United States

    What a great podcast with such great information on how to build my very own e-commerce business! Alison is relatable, knowledgeable, and very inspiring. I enjoy these episodes while driving my kids to their activities, while making dinner, or while getting ready. Listening to ALISON motivates me to push forward in my new business.

  • A dreamer/doers podcast heaven!
    by ReesieO from United States

    Alison is so upbeat, so knowledgeable, and so passionate about what she does! This podcast shows all of that! If you don’t know where to start - START HERE! The information is GOLD! You’re in the right place and this girl will give you wings! Seriously, even if you’re just having a down day - Alison will lift you up and help you believe in your dreams again!

  • Great Stuff!
    by AKP419 from United States

    My husband and I are part of Alison’s Clan and we are so excited to have all this extra great info in podcast form!

  • A must for all entrepreneurs
    by heidilynn82 from United States

    Love Alison’s Enthusiasm and passion for sharing her knowledge about all things business! It’s a must listen.

  • Love Alison
    by EricaWoodbury from United States

    I absolutely loooooove Alison and her emery is so contagious! ❤️

  • Hopeful:)
    by Polka. Lover from United States

    So far I’m really excited about this podcast....and hoping it doesn’t all lead to what so many other podcasts I’ve listened to have, which is “I’ll tell you just enough to get you excited and start to believe you can do it, but to really start to change your life it’s time to pay for the membership/course and if you can’t afford it that’s just an excuse”. I’ve become a bit of a pessimist in the self-improvement journey while trying so hard to get started but not having much cash to do so. I’m that mom stuck living credit card payment to credit card payment which doesn’t exactly leave money to get started. I’m hoping this podcast is what I’ve been searching for to guide me on how to finally get something going that will bring hope and real change for my future. I love Allison and I have faith that she’s who can help me change my life!♥️

  • LOVE HER!!!
    by IChooseYouCo from United States

    Alison is AWESOME! She knows her stuff and is so generous in giving and teaching others. I am so glad I found her to help me along this journey of e commerce.

  • Fab!
    by vbl<3 from United States

    I’m new to podcasts, but wow...what a fabulous cast! I’m a fan and will be continuing to listen!

  • So much help and valuable information!!
    by ealshfs from United States

    We love Alison!! She gives such valuable information on how to run your online business. Through this podcast she will help you, inspire you, and encourage you. Through following her course my husband and I have sold over 15K so far in one of our businesses and are headed towards the 10k mark with our second business. Thank you Alison!!

  • LOVE the heart and deep dive!
    by XefishX from United States

    Thank you so much for the useful information and VALUE in these episodes- I’m totally hooked!

  • Love Alison Prince
    by irsaguar from United States

    Thank you for this amazing podcast. I cannot get enough of Alison and her amazing knowledge of E commerce, marketing and selling online she is awesome!!!

  • Because I can!
    by shesgotdetermination from United States

    Alison is a great mentor! She has a great amount of enthusiasm and determination towards her businesses. She really tries to motivate the clanners and get us excited about our businesses. I’ve learned a lot from the FB group! There’s so much information there. Thank you everyone for supporting each other!

  • So worth listening to!
    by Orpheus Phunk from United States

    Alison KNOWS what she’s talking about. She teaches from the knowledge of having taken the steps herself, to launch and scale profitable businesses. This podcast inspires you to stop making excuses and get to work building your own business. I love it!

  • Inspiration
    by JLDiaz10x from United States

    Alison is such an inspiration! She’s a real life woman who you can relate to! Love listening to her!!

  • You Need to Listen to This!
    by Brookie Jane Boutique from United States

    Listen to the Because I Can Life podcast if you want to be successful. Alison shares the “secrets” of making your business work. By the end of episode two, I knew the approach I needed to take in my new business to help my products sell themselves. Thanks Alison!

  • Listen! You’ll love it!
    by llc732 from United States

    Alison is amazing! She encourages you, helps you, and strengthens your resolve to do more, do better!

  • Thank you!!
    by jesygirl from United States

    Thank you for sharing all of your knowledge and excitement! It is contagious. I am glad you finally came out with a podcast.

  • Mind Blown!
    by LuluAndHarley from United States

    Wow! So amazing!!! I love these podcasts because as I listen to them I feel as if Alison is speaking directly to me. It’s like she’s in my brain and truly understands what I’m going through with my business- then helps me continue to the next step! Her voice is cheerful, yet calming and she is full of reassurance- I think she believes in me more than I believe in myself at this point!!!:)

  • Amazing information
    by kdirk25 from United States

    These podcasts have amazing information to help you with your business!! They are insightful, and a must for anyone who wants to sell anything including you Mr. Eskimo who I will sell ice to... because Allison tells you how.

  • Inspirational
    by DoeRaeMegan from United States

    Alison is the one who has inspired me to start something of my own. Her guidance makes magic happen! Only good things come from Alison!!!

  • Wonderful
    by stacemt from United States

    Allison and her business strategy have had my attention for awhile now. I am thrilled to be able to listen and apply her wisdom from these podcasts.

  • So inspiring!
    by raeggett from United States

    I love all that I have learned from Alison and her amazing way of leading and teaching so many of us to create our own businesses!

  • Inspirating and Motivating
    by Jgb9 from United States

    Alison is the real deal! She is all of us.... where we have all been and truly wants to help us succeed. She shares so much wisdom and knowledge and has blessed many lives!

  • Great Info
    by Tam4040 from United States

    I appreciate the information that Alison is providing as she teaches us how to overcome fear and self doubt while encouraging how we CAN have the lives we want!

  • Femmepreneur
    by Suncreature from United States

    Allison is so inspiring. She is so supportive and gives us so many tools to help us reach our goals. She is the ultimate #Femmepreneur. She is empowered and wants all of us to feel empowered as well. “Because I can” is such an empowering statement that can lead us to success. I feel so blessed to have found her course and podcast.

  • So inspirational and motivating!!
    by jayveetally from United States

    This was such a motivating podcast! The priceless information she spills about how to be successful selling online is interesting and exciting. I can’t wait to hear more!!

  • Keep the podcasts coming!
    by SHefel87 from United States

    Alison has such an enthusiastic outlook and so much knowledge to share regarding business ventures. Have thoroughly enjoyed the first few ‘Because I Can’ podcasts. I look forward to listening to her future episodes.

  • I can? Yes, I can!
    by Too hard to review from United States

    Allison does a great job of punching a hole in all of your excuses for why you can’t do this. She’s a down-to-earth cheerleader for everyone. Great podcast.

  • Obsessed!
    by Hidequa from United States

    Holy cow- Alison I can feel your energy through my phone as I listened to your podcasts today! I’ve just recently stumbled across your Instagram and even two weeks ago watched a webinar by you as well. I can not tell you how much I feel like you are talking to me, yet I feel myself hearing you, as if I am the one talking. I have felt for a long time that I have something bigger than me I need to do to help people but like the lady in your podcast with the epi-pen, I’m kinda closer to that side of things right now. BUT I feel like I am on my way and I hear your passion for helping people. I can’t wait to listen to more of your podcasts and see where this will take me in the future. Thank you for sharing your loving heart with others.

  • Get inspired!
    by DistinctlyDawning from United States

    Alison is so inspiring, knowledgeable and encouraging! She’s been there, done that and continues doing so which allows her to provide real time helps for your business. You can’t resist but to feel uplifted and ready to go after your dreams after listening to her!

  • Thank you
    by clanner90 from United States

    I appreciate your passion and for sharing

  • The Real Deal
    by momof5forlife from United States

    This girl right here is why I am still building my online business. Thank you so much Alison for the encouragement and great teaching tips! Love it!

  • Fairly new to podcasts
    by simplyLudic from United States

    I have listened to one other before and enjoyed it. I am looking forward to Allison’s as she has so much good stuff to share. Thanks Allison for doing this.

  • Thanks
    by DeVonya M from United States

    Alison thanks for sharing you and your thoughts and ideas!! I have made changes in my life thanks to you!!!

  • Inspiring & Amazing
    by DoohikeyDesigns from United States

    Alison is the real deal! She’s real as she inspires you to reach your best life. She gives you glimpses into how she has made multi dollar million businesses. Alison was called to serve others to help others reach the dreams we have always wanted to achieve. She inspires to help us Rise Up to what God wants us to become! It just keeps getting better and better!

  • Awesome!
    by SACP12 from United States

    She is such an awesome coach. It will open up doors you never thought you could go through!

  • Great information
    by ACP2545 from United States

    Alison is so inspiring and gives such great info

  • The Best Podcast!!
    by Micah Hyde from United States

    I have been starting up my own business and this podcast has given me so much motivation to finally get everything done!!! I started thinking up tagalongites.com about 2 years ago and my dream is finally a reality !! Thanks Allison for all the motivation!

  • Love it!
    by Shanluvsry from United States

    Love her story, love her driver, love her willingness to share! This lady ROCKS!

  • Because I can is the best podcast out there!
    by GmaSheriE from United States

    Alison and her team are inspiring and changing lives! Join the clan! Because you can!!

  • Love this!
    by kcraven683 from United States

    Alison you are awesome, way to go! And thank you for this!

  • You are amazing
    by StazzyLynn from United States

    You are an inspiration. Truly talented.

  • Positivity
    by sophster78 from United States

    If you want to feel good and get excited listen to Alison. Her enthusiasm is contagious and she is just always happy.

  • The best podcast!
    by Bloodbath000 from United States

    She is the most honest, intelligent business woman out there. Love listening to her!

  • Inspiring
    by Snyder,A from United States

    I love how down to earth and real Alison is. Motivating podcast!

  • So encouraging
    by lovesstraberries4 from United States

    Alison always has relevant content and always so encouraging.

  • Inspirational and Real!
    by Greenski Beanski from United States

    I love listening to Alison because she shares from her heart! You can hear the passion in her voice and how much she loves what she’s doing. I’m excited to be able to listen to her marketing wisdom so I can put it in place in my business. Thank you for being real! Thank you for putting yourself out there and kicking fear in the teeth so I can learn to do the same!

  • Treasure Trove of Expert Goodness
    by linescrew from United States

    If you're looking to learn about building a successful online business, following your passion, and drive from a real person who practices what she preaches, this is the place! Alison is passionate about others successes- you can hear it in her voice. Against her norm of staying out of the spotlight and working behind the scenes Alison pushed past her fears of putting her face out there to follow her inner drive to teach others how she has been uber successful in several online businesses. She is still active in maintaining several online businesses and has taught me (and thousands more) how to build our own businesses. She is unselfish and wants success for all (and teaches how to do it without going into debt!). She gives so much to help others build their own dreams. Alison is the first mentor that I have found that doesn't hold back in sharing each piece to the complicated puzzle of successful business practices from idea to distribution to customer care. She doesn't promise magical overnight success- but gives you the keys you need and reminds you that your success depends on your dedication and hard work. I can't wait to see what her future episodes bring. Thanks Alison, for overdelivering yet again.

  • She’s Changing Lives!
    by TaraGlutting from United States

    Alison gives all her time and energy toward teaching people like you and me how to start a business and make all your dreams come true! This podcast is inspiring!

  • The Real Deal
    by CecOlpin from United States

    Alison is down to earth and relatable yet also extremely knowledgeable and savvy in her approach to business. You will enjoy and come away feeling empowered after listening to her amazing wisdom!

  • Real deal!!!!
    by AnnieBoz from United States

    Alison is the real deal and super legit. She knows her stuff and has helped me reach my goals plus more on many occasions. She is sincere and truly wants to help others and loves to see them grow. She is very motivating and she continues to inspire me in my life and with my business goals.

  • Love love love Allison!!
    by BreakingYarn from United States

    I was so happy to see Allison put out a podcast! She’s a huge inspiration and I admire her and her business sense! Already loving all the episodes!

  • Alison is Thee Female Entrepreneur To Follow!
    by JaimeCross77 from United States

    She’s been around the block, built a family and multiple, multimillion dollar businesses - what’s not to love about this HERo! Alison speaks from her heart and years of proven results. Would not be without this podcast in my back pocket.

  • Info needs to be consistent
    by joness59 from United States

    I missed that you mentioned the link to your bundle at the beginning of the podcast. At the end you mentioned the site is becauseicanlife.com/bundle. This is an invalid URL. I spent time trying to figure out the link until I saw it posted in the notes of your podcast. My feedback is to make sure the info you provide is consistent. Other than that it was a real good podcast. Hope this was helpful. Stephen Jones (your old Boise neighbor)

  • I LOVE MY MOM❤️❤️
    by bridges!! from United States

    WOOT WOOT!!!!!! Gooooooooooooo MOM YOUR THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • She’s the coolest little buddy
    by Emmaisbeast from United States

    She’s really cool and everybody should and will Love her and this was the most spectacular thing in the whole universe because she is an angel

  • 5 starz
    by camila_hernandez from United States

    she is so awesome and i love this podcast so much!!!!

  • AMAZING!!!
    by Dad in church from United States

    Seriously love you!

  • Best Podcast!
    by Thesimpsoncrew3 from United States

    Alison is so encouraging and a wealth of information! Real, Genuine and Relatable! So thankful she took the leap as she has paved a way for us to do the same!!!

  • Stop whatever you are doing and subscribe
    by 534426783 from United States

    Seriously, if you are looking for a heart-centered coach who is going to break it down for you and hold your hand to the online marketplace, this is your leader. Follow her. Do what she says. Listen to everything she says. Take notes. Take action. Rinse and repeat. So happy this podcast has been born!!!

  • Wow! So powerful!
    by BevSchweig from United States

    I am loving Alison’s podcast! She is so down to earth and honest! You can hear the passion she has for helping others in her voice! She has over delivered once again. Can’t wait to hear more!

  • Inspired!
    by Jen 850 from United States

    Alison’s enthusiasm is infectious! I want to get started right now!

  • Love!!!
    by Beastajt from United States

    I have been a huge fan of Alison for years now! So excited she has launched a podcast!

  • Thank You Alison!
    by Savjack28 from United States

    So glad Alison is now doing a podcast. Very inspiring!

  • Because I can! Love,Love, Love!
    by Mysterious____ from United States

    This podcast is really great! Alison is such an inspiration!

  • So inspiring!
    by Heather of come home from United States

    Thank you Alison! You always know just what to say to help me get out of my way. I’m for sure going to start recognizing those fake negative thoughts and turn them around. ❤️

  • Finally!!
    by shellcoates from United States

    It’s about time Alison made a podcast!! I’ve been waiting! She is a professional business mastermind, yet so relatable as a mother and woman. Go Alison!!!

  • The Because I can Life Podcast
    by My Beautiful Child And Me from United States

    Alison is the real deal. She doesn’t just preach and leave us on our own. Alison works her online business right along with us and teaches from her own experiences. She shares the highs and lows and gives us the tools we need to succeed. She is kind and welcoming and supports us even when we feel we are failing. The community she has created for us to find like minded people who want to make a difference is the best group I have ever been a part of. I love that she is always up dating her course that we have life long access. The fact that she takes the time to do FB lives a few times a week where she is open to all our questions is remarkable. I am grateful I found her. It doesn’t matter if you are just starting out or a seasoned business owner, Alison offer something for all of us. Connie Leonard

  • Real and Inspiring
    by lastev from United States

    Alison delivers relevant content that works. Most importantly, she is your biggest cheerleader and keeps you motivated to work hard and kick fear!

  • An inspirational podcast
    by Dude202 from United States

    I love listening to podcasts to inspire myself in my business growth. An enjoyable and helpful podcast!

  • BEST COACH EVER!!!
    by Oak&Willow from United States

    If you are looking to start your own e-commerce business, you will be hard pressed to find a more honest, passionate, caring person than Alison. She puts it all out there for you to see how to be successful. This podcast is going to change lives!

  • All Entrepreneurs Must Hear This
    by seesnow99 from United States

    I’ve been following Alison for a while now. I bought into her 0-100K system. My store is up & running thanks to her & a lot of hard work. If you want to have an e-commerce business & have the best support team ever, look no further. I’ve done tons of webinars & online research. Nothing compares to what I have learned from Alison. Her online Facebook group is nothing short of phenomenal. You can post your struggle & ask for help. Five hours later, you come back to loads of encouraging posts from fellow “clanners” who have been there & they’re offering helpful advice. I have been in her course since May 2018 & have watched her course get better & better. That’s because she’s constantly adding to it. The best part about all of this is that Alison is genuine. She really wants to see her students succeed. This podcast is just another way to encourage us & all of you at the same time. I’ve met her in person more than once & her sincerity is more than evident. Sit back & enjoy the podcast! Better yet, take that jump & come join us in the Because I Can Clan!

  • Yes I can!!
    by A. Nieto from United States

    Yes!! Loving the podcast! Real and raw reminding us all that we all start somewhere and we can each be successful.

  • So. Much. Info.
    by An Interpreter from United States

    I've learned so much about being an entrepreneur from Alison. Her teachings have changed my thinking, my shopping, and my future. I'm so happy she now has a podcast!!

  • Yessssss!
    by ryanhelms from United States

    Thank you Allison for sharing all your knowledge with us!

  • Amazing!
    by sarakappas from United States

    Alison is always so fun to listen to and as usual, is giving us amazing content that can really change your life!

  • So true and authentic!
    by Daxy111 from United States

    Alison is seriously the best and most talented business mom I've learned from! You rock!!

  • Perfect Morning Pick Me Up!
    by Arichards130 from United States

    This podcast is the perfect morning pick me up to kick my behind in gear and get motivated to live my best life everyday! I’m still in the beginning stages of my journey, but I’ve seen, heard and felt the real life stories of Alison’s students who continually inspire, support and encourage me to keep walking my walk and doing the work to realize my goals! Like Alison said, usually the best place to start is the beginning, so just jump in!

  • Lucky us!
    by Wild Azalea from United States

    Alison’s passion for helping others comes through loud and clear. I have already learned so much from her and look forward to future podcasts.

  • So motivating!
    by LexHemming from United States

    I’m loving this podcast. I feel like I CAN do whatever I put my mind to. It’s so nice to have such a positive, motivational, sincere example of what you can do when you trust yourself and step out of your comfort zone. Can’t wait for more episodes.

  • INCREDIBLE!!
    by Dragonmaster191 from United States

    Seriously Alison is just INCREDIBLE!!! She is such a huge inspiration! She is so honest and real and you know she honestly truly cares about helping others succeed!!! I know she loves celebrating us when we learn from her and take steps to change our lives for the better....Because I Can!!!!! Thank you!!!!!

  • My new favorite podcast!
    by JBest4 from United States

    I’m loving Alison’s podcast! She has been so successful in her businesses and to have the privilege to learn from her is incredibly valuable. I could listen to her all day because she is so genuine and relatable. Her passion for helping others really shines through too.

  • Awesome content!!!!!
    by dtorell from United States

    She is so inspiring and has made the mistakes so we don’t have to. Thanks for your drive to help others help others

  • Amazing
    by Sarah Because I Can from Canada

    I was never one to listen to podcasts. But now I am hooked! Alison is brilliant I am learning and continue to learn from her. She knows the e-commerce business inside and out implement what she teaches it’s amazing! I am definitely enjoying the journey of the Because I Can Life.

  • Like Rachel Hollis...but better
    by Erin_Verb7 from United States

    Alison is inspiring and makes you believe in yourself, but she doesn’t stop with the warm fuzzies. She takes you by the hand and shows you how to turn your money making dream into reality with action steps designed to help you create your own success, not just dream about it.

  • Your Millionaire Best Friend
    by VinaHowell from United States

    Alison’s podcast feels like an invigorating conversation with a best friend. If you’re interested in a life of “more”, learning marketing and e-commerce, and hearing someone whose persistence and authenticity is unmatched, this is the podcast for you.

  • Awesome sauce!
    by Coolcv1998 from United States

    Alison you are in your element!! You are so easy to listen to. This is as real as it gets. Can’t wait for more episodes. Add this to your list for sure everyone!! Just awesome!

  • Inspiring!!
    by Olga Bella from United States

    Alison just makes me want to jump up and cheer. She is so inspiring!

  • ✨SO much goodness!
    by Briestarr from United States

    Alison shares so much goodness in this podcast! If you want tangible tips to take your biz to the next level and get inspired at the the same time, listen in!

  • So good!
    by Trendytikes from United States

    I love that she’s not only shelling out entrepreneur inspiration, she’s giving out real step by step advise for moving forward with business goals!!

  • So motivational! Love it!
    by elizathere321 from United States

    Love all the free advice Alison!

  • Awesome Alison!
    by Chelli C from United States

    I’m such a fan of Alison. Her podcast didn’t disappoint!

  • Rockstar!
    by Christine Michelle James from United States

    Looking forward to this! She rocks whatever she touches!

  • YESSS!! About time!!!
    by LINDS100k from United States

    Love Alison J. Prince! Can’t wait to learn more from her in this amazing podcast!!

  • Ready to learn!
    by tjshrews from United States

    Ready to soak up more info from this lady and her amazing family. Gives great practical tips for growing an online business! And...I just love that her whole family is involved!

  • The best Cheerleader!
    by KimHenrie from United States

    When you are feeling like a failure, you need Alison to cheer you on and to keep you going. She’s always reminding you that you were made for more.

  • From a Dads POV
    by StartupDadHQ.com from United States

    So happy Alison has launched this podcast. So refreshing to find parent entrepreneurs who are crushing it in business but at the same time being REAL, TRANSPARENT, and VULNERABLE about what it's really like to build a business with a family (without sacrificing the family)! So many families out there are struggling working 9-5 or more and still unable to provide for their families. Alison's journey is a tremendous inpiration that it doesn't have to be like that and as a Entrepeneur myself I'm looking forward to some solid advice and tips through this podcast. Thank you Alison!!

  • Left me wanting more!!!
    by kristin.sparks from United States

    Alison I love your passion for helping others succeed, it comes through loud and clear. Can’t wait for the next one.

  • Exciting
    by Queen Bee of three from United States

    I’m excited to see how this podcast evolves! We all need a pep talk now and then but I can’t wait until Alison digs in to some more juicy details for those of us already working the program. And I would love to hear interviews with successful fellow clambers. Thanks again!

  • Get Into This Community!
    by MindYourMomentum from United States

    You will never find a more supportive community anywhere else online than in Alison’s Because I Can Clan. Beginner? Everyone’s cheering for you to succeed. Intermediate? Everyone’s cheering for your continued success. Advanced? Everyone’s still lifting you higher. No matter your level, you’ll learn something new every week, if not every day. So excited to now have a podcast to listen to on my daily walks! #becauseican #becauseicanclan

  • Most Caring Coach❣️
    by 23569 from United States

    Alison is the best inspiring coach to help people start their own online businesses. If you have a dream to do this, know that Alison can help, inspire, encourage, and nicely kick you in the butt if that’s what you need! You can do it with her help and with the help of her team, which includes her husband Jared and her children who themselves made $100k in less than a year. Legit legit legit! You can live the Because I Can life!

  • Life changing!
    by rubyandedie from United States

    Alison knows her stuff when it comes to e-commerce. If you have ever wanted to start your own business she is the lady to follow!! Not only that but she helps you build confidence and belief in yourself!! Seriously listen to what she says!

  • So Grateful!
    by Brosky1213 from United States

    Alison is such an inspiration!

  • Love Alison’s authenticity
    by Sawshee from United States

    Alison has a great way of sharing her passions as if she is already your best friend. She’s is truly authentic and wants to bring value to as many lives as she can. I’m loving this already! Keep them coming!!!

  • Beca Miller
    by Beca Miller from United States

    “Because I am not going to settle!” Alison is full of gold! I strongly recommend listening to her podcasts and learn how you don’t have to settle and can reach your dreams.

  • Just WOW!
    by Walter Gro from United States

    Alison is so inspiring and informative! We were so moved by her story of creating her business and changing her families future that we’ve got our kids listening too! Love it

  • Love love love!
    by mlci from United States

    Wherever you are in your entrepreneurial journey Alison has the message you need. ❤️

  • Not alone
    by melnemlove from United States

    Having your own business can feel like you are all alone. Alison and her program make me feel like I have a personal coach and cheerleader. Can’t wait to see how far I can go...because I can!!!

  • Alison is the expert
    by Mm1982us from United States

    Alison isn’t just the expert, she is a mom entrepreneur and knows real life experiences and feelings and helps you overcome yourself and get out there! Excited you finally have a podcast!

  • Best ever
    by nyecreate from United States

    This is will help anyone no matter where they are in trying to run their life and business.

  • A podcast full of awesomeness
    by JLO52006 from United States

    This podcast talks about the real life of a success entrepreneur, Alison Prince, and other like it. She tells you how to run a business and have a life too. She’s down to earth, tell it like it is presence, is exactly what people want to hear. She’s honest, open and funny. Take a listen, and you won’t regret it.

  • Speaks from the heart
    by Lisa Dinsmore from United States

    Alison has a great knowledge of business and shares that with us. She truly cares and wants other to succeed just like she has. I’m so excited to continue learning from her as she shares her knowledge.

  • I’m learning new things
    by Trippy6911 from United States

    My garage is full of stuff that I can sell, I had no idea where to start. My cousin recommended I listen to Alison and truth be told I’m beginning to have an idea on how to get my business going. I truly recommend listen to her or even watching her YouTube videos.

  • Authenticity
    by Samantha Richardson from United States

    She’s the real deal and no Bs, her passion to help others shows in everything she does. I love following/listening/ watching Alison because shes knowledgeable and is taking you through her experience! I’m soooooo excited for a podcast! Can’t wait to hear what more I can learn from this woman!

  • Thank you, Alison!
    by stacyj:) from United States

    Thank you for your words today! Very inspiring to me! Can’t wait for the next!

  • The best!!
    by Lacegan from United States

    Alison knows her stuff in the e-commerce world and is so great at showing others the path to success too!

  • This is the best person & podcast to learn E-Commerce
    by Viciousinc from Canada

    Alison is hands down one of the best people on the planet to learn e-commerce from. Not only has she successfully gone through the process and failed forward along the way, she also shares everything and does it with such genuine grace and humility. It’s hard to find people that walk the walk and do it in a way that lifts up the people around them. This is that person. Listen and more importantly apply everything she says. Thank you Alison!!

  • Life Changing
    by N Family from United States

    Alison is an expert in her field. If you want to change your financial future this is the podcast for you!

  • Real Deal
    by Mashie422 from United States

    She is so authentic and her messages are heartfelt and real. So glad to finally have a podcast from Alison!!

  • Got my wheels spinning
    by iRunOnEmpty from United States

    Alison has a way of getting you to not only think about your goals and your dreams, but Act on your goals and your Dreams. I’m ready for that Because I Can Life!

  • Alison Prince WALKS THE WALK Like No Other Person I Know
    by Supreme Dragon Slayer 69 from United States

    Full Disclosure. I met Alison and her amazing family just a few years ago and in that time I have witnessed an incredibly humble person step into even more of her greatness. This is someone who chases Impact over Significance in everything she does. In a world where most “big marketing gurus” who just yell louder to be heard and rely mostly on manufacturing celebrity to become a house hold name... Alison has been actually walking the walk for decades. She is family focused. She is heart centered. But make no mistake. She is one of the most BRILLIANT Marketers and Business Builders in the world. She had proven herself time and time again on her multiple businesses in multiple niches. All. From. The. Ground. Up. So yes. I know her. Which makes me qualified to write this review bc if you do have an opportunity to ever meet her in real life, feel good knowing she is the same in real life as she is on this podcast. Dave

  • The real deal
    by Utah PT from United States

    If you really want to know what it takes to change your life then you better listen. Alison knows what it takes to start and grow your new online business and love your entrepreneur life.

  • So happy Alison finally is releasing a podcast!
    by Arushi-315 from United States

    So ready to listen to all these episodes.

 

Transcript…

Read Full Transcript

00:00 Okay, so it's the end of the year again. I swear it was just yesterday... I was writing down what happened over 2018. Time looking backwards can feel so fast, but don't you feel like time like looking forward just crawls, right? All right, so I usually put 3 things down on a piece of paper that I'm proud of doing and 3 things that I hope no one finds out.

00:34 Hey, you are listening to the Because I Can Life podcast, where we believe we can decide our own income, choose happiness, kick fear in the teeth, and never ever stop. Why? Because we can. I'm your host, Alison J. Prince and I went from being a junior high science teacher to building four online multi-million dollar businesses, with four kids, at my feet each week. I'm bringing you real conversations that have led me as well as other experts to step into our dream online business lifestyle so that you can get the answers you need to prep your Because I Can Life as well. Take that first step and commit now to your Because I Can Life by downloading your free personal bundle at AlisonJPrince.com/bundle.

01:20 Welcome to today's podcast and Oh, what a holiday it has been. I think the big thing that happened that will go down in the history of holiday’ness is that we dare nigh we made our kids cry. Yeah, the all-out, blown-out, ugly cry, every single one of them, and in fact, I may have joined in a little bit on it too, but this breakdown wasn't because they didn't get the gifts they wanted. It's because they got the thing that you've really, really wanted. Now, you may know that for the past six months, we have been living in Puerto Rico and we've been telling our kids that we couldn't go back for Utah for Christmas because we moved in June. Knowing that we had to spend a specific number of days on the island for something called the Act 20 - Act 22. I don't want to dive into that.

02:14 You can Google it if you want to, but we're required to live here 183 days to qualify, which is fine because we plan on being here for more. But because I travel a bit, my numbers or cutting it so close in 2019 so this last fall I decided to forego a business event trip, which honestly it was probably a really big mistake for my business, but I knew it was going to be a huge win for my family if I could save those days and use them for a trip back to Utah. But I was keeping that last part a secret. And one of the reasons why I wanted to do this is because it's going to be our last Christmas as an entire family for a while. Mikayla will be leaving late spring to serve an 18-month mission for our church and wanted to make this Christmas one that they will always remember.

03:13 And what better way to do it than a surprise trip back to Utah for their Christmas gift. So for months and months. Jared and I have been telling the kids that we were celebrating Christmas here on the Island because we didn't have enough days to go back and their little lips would quiver. Have you ever had something so grant that you wanted to give someone so hard to keep a secret? Yeah, this was totally it. So Christmas Eve Eve, we hurried around, secretly packed their bags and can I tell you how hard it is to pack a picky teenager suitcase? Oh my goodness. Well, you threw, hid all the suitcases in the back of the car. We woke them up at 5:00 AM on Christmas morning to catch our flight that was going to leave at seven. We sat them down on the couch to tell him the news and I'll tell you what ugly cries, ugly cries were happening.

04:14 We wipe noses, cleared tears and headed out the door to be home with friends and family for the holidays. It was sweet. Ah, it's the one they'll never forget, nor will I. I think that tops all the gifts we've ever given the gift of friends and family. Ah, such a fun, fun time. Okay, so it's the end of the Oregon ice where I was yesterday, I was writing down what happened over 2018 time. Looking backward can fill so fast, but don't you feel like time, like looking forward just crawls, right. All right. So I usually put three things down on a piece of paper that I'm proud of doing and three things that I hope no one finds out and I try and figure out the lessons that I was supposed to learn from him. This is so hard for me to do. It's easy to point out other people's mistakes, right?

05:11 But pointing out your own then telling the world. I'll tell you what, that is a hard pill to swallow, but I do it every year because it leaves me more focused for the upcoming year. So I'll be talking about the things that I want to hide and still want to stay hidden. And this podcast will either leave you to believe it's a hot mess or you may come out really inspired. But I'm willing to take the risk and hoping for the ladder learning from my lesson so you can skip the mistakes. This is the intention of this podcast. Now. I hope you take the time to do this too. Do you remember VHS tapes? The ones we got from blockbuster video, and there was a big bold sticker on it that said, please be kind. Rewind. Yeah. I think that's engraved in our brains forever, and I still think we should do this, but not on VHS tapes, but a rewind on our own lives by taking a minute to be kind to ourselves and rewind on the past.

06:15 We get to see just how far we've actually come. Was sure, maybe you've gotten your head, Oh, last year was such a failure because I didn't get to my million dollars, or maybe it's, I didn't even open up my store last year. But if you stop and you look back and see the things that you've actually done, you'll see the hurdles and the successes that you've accomplished and it helps us to be kind to ourselves because you know what? We've been through some really hard stuff over the last year and we've been able to step it up and become stronger. Now I have a five-part template about how to do this. I'm going to give it to you right here. Number one, you're going to write down where you were a year ago. Feel free to cheat and look at your photos on your phone because it totally helps you remember the second thing.

07:09 Write down the things that make you sick. Looking back on yes, the embarrassing things you don't want anyone to know about. What are the things that you wish you could do over again? Now, don't dwell on that for a long time cause that can be a pit of darkness, right? Just go fast through that section. Then number three, write down the good. Write down the things that you are super proud that you accomplished. Now I understand this may be really hard because it kind of feels like you're bragging. Well. You want to know how I got over that part so that it didn't feel like a brag. I write it down knowing that God gave these things, these successes, these experiences, and I need to let him know how grateful I am for what I received because I know I didn't do any of this without him.

08:05 And when I have that in my head, it's easier for me to write it out. Number four, go back through the six things, the good and the bad, and you're going to write a lesson learned from each of the three items. So three lessons learned from the good and three lessons learned from the bad. And then the fifth thing is you are going to pick out a word of the year that you are going to live by and I will talk about that and give you some examples that just might help you get inspired for your word of the year. Now notice how I start on the bad [inaudible]. Talk about the bad first and then go into the good because why not leave out on a good note, right? Looking over all of this just might surprise you at the rock star. You get to stare at each day in, because you get to see who you have become today.

09:00 So let me start with number one. I was living in [inaudible], Utah. I was sitting in my office looking out the window, watching all the trash cans in the street get blown over one by one. It was creating almost these mini trash tornadoes. And I look over and I noticed Jared is an all-out dead sprint. He's in his snow boots, he's in his coat and he's wearing shorts as he's running down the street trying to get our trash cans from blowing over. And I was sitting in my warm office, grateful that he was out there taking one for the team. And now this is such a huge contrast today living in Puerto Rico and a nice 87-degree weather where our trash cans are actually built into the ground. So all we have to do is worry about leaving the lids open during a rainstorm and they feel with water.

09:50 Jared is still wearing shorts, but no coats aren't needed out here. Okay, so now on to the second one, diving into the [inaudible] bad things. All right, here we go. Number one, we moved 3,139 miles away to a new land. Now as I talk about this, you may feel like I'm contradicting myself, but hold tight because I've actually put this in the good and the bad section and I'll explain why. Okay. Now I know moving was our decision, but have you ever found that making decisions on your own can actually be the hardest part? It would've been a lot easier if a boss would have told me to move. So if it went out, I could blame it on them. Right? Is so much easier to blame someone else than take our own responsibility. And we've had some bad moments and the only one that I can blame [inaudible] me and then I feel like it stings even worse because Jared and I are the ones that made this decision.

11:00 But I do realize that no matter who's telling you to move you or your boss, it is hard to move. It creates tension, frustration, and anxiety on lots of levels with everyone. As they adjust to this new place. At two weeks, everyone broke down and cried. We built it back up and then at six weeks we broke down and cried again. I felt like I couldn't show my sadness. I felt like I had to be the strong one for everyone as they adjusted. And I constantly felt like I was falling short. But long story short, we're homesick, but we're learning. It's okay to feel that way. It's not that we don't love Puerto Rico, but change can be difficult to navigate with a family of six. And just trying to find the new normal in the chaos of moving is hard. We miss Target and, oh, don't even get me started on Chick-fil-A, we miss streets without huge potholes and we miss listening to Taylor Swift playing in the background at Walgreens.

12:09 We miss knowing where all the lights, which is are in the house. Yes, six months. And we still can't get the dang lights, which is right. And I can disprove right now that habits can take more than 30 days. And I can disprove right now that building a habit in 30 days is a load of nothing NUS. Every day Jared and I go to one wall and our bedroom to turn out the light and the light switch isn't there. It's on another wall. I don't know how long it's gonna take us to break that habit, but if you notice what I'm talking about, this stuff can happen anywhere at you move right? The next city over or that next country over light switches will always be different. Your favorite shops, restaurants, the change and homesick can happen from only a one-block move. And I was recently listening to a podcast where president Obama was saying that a home isn't where you are, it's who you're with.

13:13 And I know I've heard that so many times, but this time it just really stood out to me. So the lesson learned here is Jared is home, my kids are home, and I really can find a home anywhere in the world when I'm with them. All right? This second bad thing, I realized that I was hoarding, and I call this my hoarders head. So I watched my first episode of house hoarders. Yes. You know that show that's been around forever. I somehow landed on that show about a half a decade late. As I was sitting there watching the piles of clothes, decorations, or whatever these people had been collecting, I was beginning to relate. Now if you know me, I'm more of a minimalist, so I don't mean hoarding of stuff, but hoarding of information in my head. The piles of learning this and the piles of learning that and then having to relearn because I had forgot what I had already learned and you may know that feeling of like hopping into YouTube university and starting out by learning how to grow your Instagram.

14:26 Like that's what you want to do is learn how to grow your Instagram account and then two hours later you're realizing that you're watching videos on the secret places in Disneyland and [inaudible]. You don't even have a trip to Disneyland plan this year. Then you refocus and go down all the things, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube stories, tech talks because it's learning and it feels like your moving. Well, I fell into this trap. I was staying up late, getting up too early, binge-watching YouTube for all the things that I thought I needed to know and it left me going in circles. I was Googling all the things which led me to the next thing and next thing and next thing, and realizing I had spent a big part of my time to actually moving the needle in my business, but just searching for the needle and then realizing I didn't even need that needle.

15:16 Now this is hard for me to admit because I talk a lot with my students about stopping the chaos, but I got caught up in it and I'm pretty good at blocking out things and focusing. But it wasn't until I watched this episode that it dawned on me that I was falling into the hoarder's head trap. I had to step back, look at it. My priorities about actually what was getting results. Was it me watching one more episode on how to grow my YouTube account or was it me investing into one person who was the expert and then going deep, so I actually have two lessons learned from this one. Number one is stop trying to do it all. I needed to stop thinking that I wanted to be like Gary Vaynerchuk and beyond all the platforms all the time nonstop. This was never my intention to be famous.

16:13 My intention is getting more results for me and my students and not the numbers and then lesson number two, stop going down the rabbit hole of service-learning. I needed to keep investing in experts that go deep as I learn from them and not just a little bit from all the YouTube snippets out there. I just needed to stop and to focus on the experts of the things that I truly wanted to learn that would actually move the needle and dive into that and quiet everything else. All right. The third thing, I worry too much about my weight, my shape, how I look in clothes and what part of me is the new squishy thing. Being in a swimsuit here, more importer eco has left me really close and personal with my thighs. I know I don't usually talk about body image because it's not the topic at hand, but it's there floating around in my noggin.

17:18 I started making a note each time I was critical about my body and Holy Schmoley. I realized that it was a lot of time. Now I'm not saying this to get, Oh Alison, you're so whatever comments, you know you're seeing people post that on social media just to get a boost of confidence from others. I'm not doing that. I'm saying this because I decided to take notes of my thoughts and potty image was a big chunk of the equation and needed to fix that. I can only imagine if I could turn even half of those thoughts into something productive, that alone would get me back a ton of my headspace. And have you ever thought about how many times you think of a thought? Yeah. It's kind of cool and scary that we are able to do that. Right. So the lesson learned here was thinking about what I'm thinking about and if I can direct my thoughts from something like negative body image and to just about anything else, I could probably change a heck of a lot more lives.

18:31 All right. Now on to the good. The first one we moved 3,139 miles away from home. Do you feel like you heard this before? Yeah, because I put it in the good and bad at this year. So part of it was because it felt so good to get rid of the stuff that accumulates from living in a house for years. Just random stuff like stuffed animals. I swear stuffed animals reproduce under our kid's bed. You get them one and six months later there are 10 food show up. Now I don't buy a lot as I'm learning that I'm more of a minimalist in things, but it's something my grandparents who went through the great depression taught me to not waste. Don't waste tin foil and wash your baggies and yes, wrapping paper is a nonessential, but stuff just shows up. When grandma and grandpa lived, they lived in a generation where there was nothing, so that was one of their battles and I think we live in a generation of stuff and a lot of stuff and that is one of our battles.

19:41 So cleaning out the house when we moved like a good clean was so liberating for me. I felt like I'd lost a ton of weight off my shoulders because the less stuff I have, it's the less stuff I have to pick up and put away. And living in Puerto Rico when the majority of stuff can't be shipped here, it feels good. And then living on an Island where stuff is expensive to get shipped here, we don't buy as much stuff and so there's less staff to take care of and actually fills pretty darn good. Then Puerto Rico, I love it here. We've had such a good adventure. I feel like we live in Jurassic Park, but the dinosaurs are huge iguanas and they don't attack and we live in 87-degree weather year-round with a beach that's like three minutes from the house. We've met some of the most beautiful people and are so grateful that we've been accepted from the truck stand who the workers there have been helping us order as we tried order in Spanish, which I'll tell you what.

20:55 Thank you. Taco bell. We know taco bell, Spanish yo, Kyoto taco. That one just rolled off our tongues to the hairdresser. Who's learning more about how to deal with my thin hair? We have had such an adventure. I feel like we've grown really tight as a family because our kids just [inaudible] for a long time. They didn't have friends. They couldn't just go out and play with friends. They learn to play with each other more. They learned to help each other through some of the hard times and that for me is such a huge win. All right. The second thing was I threw my first event where two days before I sat crying in the car thinking of all the reasons I could cancel the event because I was scared to death if you followed my journey. You know that stage right has been a battle for me and I've been known to create small tremors on stage.

21:50 So hosting an event where I stood in front of 300 people wasn't exactly an easy task for me. I remember coming home from the warehouse the late afternoon after my staff had told me to come home and had to pull over because I was doing the ugly cry thing and I couldn't see to drive. After a bit, I went into the house to find Jared with his arms open and he let me cry it all out and reminded me of just what I was feeling. I truly, truly believe that Satan himself does everything in his power to throw us off before we do something that will change our lives. He fills her head with self-doubt, insecurities, fear, anxiety, overwhelm, all the tools that he's been perfecting for thousands and thousands of years to get people to stay stuck and then if you're about to change other people's lives, Oh boy.

22:48 He brings out his minions and they go full force on you. I knew this event was going to change lives. I've been prepping for it for a long time and was bringing in world-class speakers from across the country that tickets sold out in a matter of hours when I released them. So I know people are chomping at the bit. When I decided to build a course around teaching people how to get started in their business to get their first $100,000 I just didn't want education part of it. You can get that almost anywhere, right? I wanted to build a community, something I wish I would have had when I got started where I could ask questions if I got stuck where I could have a place to celebrate my wins. Because you know what? Telling other people about your wins can be really hard to do if you don't sell very much.

23:39 They're like, really? That's all you sold and they don't see all the back work that you did, what you had to go through to prep it to make it happen. Then when you go big and you knock it out of the park, it totally sounds like you're bragging and so you hold it in and I honestly think that's another one of Satan's tools is not celebrating the small things because it's those things that help you build your confidence to do the next scary, unknown, unfamiliar step that's going to help you get closer to your dreams. I stood on a stage at that event and introduced my mastermind program called the insiders and had 70 people sign up from that. It's something that I wanted to start for a while. It's for helping people to get where they are to their first million. It's more access to me and additional coaching.

24:30 It's a program that I set up that made me want to buy it. It's that good and I've gotten to know these business owners well to hear their struggles and want to help them succeed. It's been close since March and has been building a waiting list and I'll open it up again sometime soon. So the lesson learned here is the more freaked out you are, the bigger your success is going to be. Then the third good thing is that I realized I don't like to feel busy, I like to be busy but I don't like to fill it and I'll do an episode that dives into that a little bit more. But being busy and feeling busy are completely different things and I am learning the difference between the two and it feels good. So the lesson learned here is busy, don't feel busy.

25:27 So all the good and the bad helps bring me to the fist step and the good bad template. And that is choosing a word of the year 2019 my word was simplified and I went from running eight businesses to three. I sold the majority of them and now I can focus on the, because I can life family. Howdoesshe.Com and my pillows company. Then we throw out so much stuff when we moved and I simplify like my wardrobe and my life and I'm pretty proud of that. It felt so good in 2019 to keep remembering to simplify the style of making everything is so complicated and to just simplify, which helped me to pick my word for 20 at 20 and it's going to be to focus on the less to get more results, so less dash more is the word of the year. I squished them together to make it one word because word of the year you're only supposed to choose one, but the less more.

26:30 It was just right for me. As I move forward, I can think less of the chaos, more of the focus, less of the stuff, more of the intention and so I actually kind of broke the rule, but I squished it together and because I'm an entrepreneur I can bend the rules, right? Just don't break laws. Bend the rules, don't break laws. And I could go on and on for that. Less stuff, more intention, less fluff, more results. Like the wordless and more just worked so well in my brain that that is what I'm going to use going into 2020. Now, as this podcast episode is coming to an end, I just want to go over the five parts of your yearly review, the good, the bad review so that you can do this. Stop what you're doing. Take five minutes and just be kind to yourself and rewind so you can truly see the rockstar that you are.

27:37 Number one, write down where you were a year ago. Number two, write down the three things that made you sick looking back on. Number three, write down the three good things that you are proud that you accomplished. Number four, go back through the six things - three good, three bad, and write down the lessons learned, and then number five, pick your word of the year. Then when you're done with this, I would love to hear what you chose as your word of the year so you can either leave it in the rating and reviews section if you are on iTunes or you can shoot me a direct message. I would love to hear what your focus is going into 2020 as I know it is going to be your year. All right, I'll talk to you next week.

28:35 Oh, that was so much fun. Thank you so much for listening to Because I Can podcast. If you haven't already downloaded that Because I Can bundle, head over to AlisonJPrince.com/bundle - the only place you can get access to your personalized bundle, so head over there now and download it. I look forward to you joining and next time on the Because I Can podcast. Well, see you then.

Debbie

You will never learn more, you will never grow more and you will never enjoy more this course and community that Alison Prince has created. Alison is the real deal and the things that she shares is incredible! Do you want to be your own boss? Do you want financial freedom? Then follow Alison and get her course!! Best decision ever.

Debbie

5.0
2016-05-03T18:05:39-06:00

Debbie

You will never learn more, you will never grow more and you will never enjoy more this course and community that Alison Prince has created. Alison is the real deal and the things that she shares is incredible! Do you want to be your own boss? Do you want financial freedom? Then follow Alison and get her course!! Best decision ever.

Julie

Alison's commitment to her course and students is phenomenal. She offers an unrivaled level of support, with weekly trainings, course updates, expert guests and more. She's also created an online group unlike any other I've ever been a part of. Course participants help one another, encourage each other, and share information--and of course, Alison is right in there as well. Highly recommend this course for anyone who is looking to build a sustainable e-commerce business the right way. Definitely 5 stars!

Julie

5.0
2016-05-03T18:07:52-06:00

Julie

Alison's commitment to her course and students is phenomenal. She offers an unrivaled level of support, with weekly trainings, course updates, expert guests and more. She's also created an online group unlike any other I've ever been a part of. Course participants help one another, encourage each other, and share information--and of course, Alison is right in there as well. Highly recommend this course for anyone who is looking to build a sustainable e-commerce business the right way. Definitely 5 stars!

Shelly

WOW, WOW, WOW!!! I have been dabbling in trying to get an online store up and running for over a year, gave up, and then seen Alison's story! There was just something about her that drew me in and am I ever THANKFUL!! I joined the Clan just a couple of months ago. I have learned more in those two months than I think I EVER would have without this! I am already selling on my own site and pushing forward daily!! So excited to see what the future holds!!

Shelly

5.0
2016-05-03T18:24:44-06:00

Shelly

WOW, WOW, WOW!!! I have been dabbling in trying to get an online store up and running for over a year, gave up, and then seen Alison's story! There was just something about her that drew me in and am I ever THANKFUL!! I joined the Clan just a couple of months ago. I have learned more in those two months than I think I EVER would have without this! I am already selling on my own site and pushing forward daily!! So excited to see what the future holds!!
5
3